A Continuation of Miracles
Lewis, Eric C.
Magical Publications (1981)
In Collection
Magic tricks
Lewis, Eric C.: A Continuation of Miracles
©1980 Magical Publications, Sierra Madre, CA
©1981 Magical Publications, Sierra Madre, CA
Hardcover, w/dj, 254 pages

Comments: The second of the "Miracles" Trilogy: 1) A Choice of Miracles (magic up to 1939); 2) A Continuation of Miracles; and 3) The Crowning Miracles.

Contents (from book ToC):

10 Publisher's Note
11 Introduction (Goodliffe)
13 Foreword

15 Chapter I The New Routine
17 One-Man Nest of Boxes
19 The Crazy Imaginary Four-Ace Trick
22 Black Magic
26 The Ace, the Seven and the Queen
29 Jumbo Halve-lt

33 Chapter II Towards Neo-Classics
34 The Diminishing Silk Production
38 The Lighted Bulbs from Mouth
42 The Fantastic Frame
50 Penelease

53 Chapter III The Personality Patter Caper

61 Chapter IV Six Requested Routines
61 The Die in Box
66 Thimble Routine
70 Cones and Silks
73 The Restored Bill
77 Fiddling with Ropes
82 The Clock Dial

89 Chapter V Another Six
89 The Cups and Balls
95 Billiard Balls
99 Into Thin Air
103 Mass Production
107 Chinese Sugar
111 Televidu

115 Chapter VI Wartime Wizardry
119 ‘Orrible Murder
122 The Fig-Leaf Chest
125 The Peacock Fantasy

131 Chapter VII The Magic Of Wartime Friends
132 Cutting it Short
133 A Cut and Restored Rubber Band
135 The Game of Hijacker
136 The Chameleon Knife Routine
142 Telepathic Card Projection
146 Hypnotizing a Rabbit
147 The Card Guillotine

151 Chapter VIII The Elevator-And Things
155 The “Slam-Through” Glass Vanish
157 An "Elevated” Magic Welding
160 The Elevated Vanishing Bowl
163 Thanks to Goldin

167 Chapter IX 'The Foundation Of All Good Things'
168 The Sympathetic Silks
172 Tricolor
173 Rotund Follow-My-Leader
178 A Globate “Everywhere and Nowhere”
180 The Acrobatic Balls
182 The Linking Rings
188 You’re Always Right
193 Bruce Elliott Showeded The Way

199 Chapter X Sledgehammers
200 Nuts!
203 Controlled Color Coincidence
208 A Casket of Boxes

213 Chapter XI Olla Podrida
214 Llanfair-pwllgwyn, etc.
218 The Chronicle of the Sympathetic Cubes
227 The Final Card Finalized
229 A Perplexing Puzzle
232 A Torn, Restored and Rising Card
236 The “Yellow-art” Tubes
237 “I Forgot!”
241 A Quite Remarkable Cigarette
243 Garden-Parties, Fetes—and Kama

249 Chapter XII The Return Of Light

251 Appendix
253 Index

With bookplate for Margaret Yates

Eric Lewis is one of the great minds in magic who came up with many great effects during his lifetime. These 3 books represent the documentation of his inventions and incorporate many of his earlier writings which have been edited and rewritten and new illustrations drawn. These books incorporate much of the history behind the tricks which makes for interesting reading. This was conceived as trilogy and that was what was delivered, exactly 3 volumes. Lewis was also an expert craftsman and began building tricks at a young age. Many of Lewis' effects have also been commercially produced including many by Milson Worth.

A Choice of Miracles was published in 1980 and contains 213 pages. It describes his magic up until 1939 and here are some of the highlights:

Alarm Clock Production
Broken and Restored Wand
Merely a Mistake
Playing with Fire
The Book of Spells
Off and On the Ribbon
The Strange Letter
Walking-Cane Suspension
Locked Books Release
Case of the Curious Cubes
Curiouser and Curiouser
Improved "Zen's" Switch
Penetrating Flower-Pot
Comedy Flower Growth
Chinese Hat
Dual Lantern Production
Mystery of the Triple Temple
Convocational Jacks
Living and Dead Test
Cups and Balls for the Stage
Convincing Color-Change Wand
Vanishing tube
Golden Arrow
Electric Bulb Penetration

The second book in the series, A Continuation of Miracles, published in 1981, has a total of 254 pages. Lewis continues on his magical journey. Here are some of the effects described:

One Man Nest of Boxes
Crazy Imaginary Four-Ace Trick
Black Magic
Lighted Bulbs from Mouth
Fantastic Frame
Die in Box
Clock Dial
Cups and Balls
Billiard Balls
Mass Production
'Orrible Murder
Fig-Leaf Chest
Peacock Fantasy
Hypnotizing a Rabbit
Card Guillotine
"Slam-Through" Glass Vanish
"Elevated" Magic Welding
Sympathetic Silks
Acrobatic Balls
Casket of Boxes
Chronicle of the Sympathetic Cubes
Perplexing Puzzle
Yellow Art Tubes
Torn, Restored, and Rising Card

The Crowning Miracles is the last of the volumes and has 237 pages and was published in 1983. This volume has over 20 years of children's magic, close-up, stage, and platform magic. Here are some of the highlights:

Pin-Up Girl
Color Forcing Paddle
"Slate" Mistake
Harbin-Lewis Trick
Mystery of the Crystal Ring
Who Done It?
A Lesson in Card Magic
School or Circus?
Pirate's CHest
Solid Chuff-Chuff
Eric Wilson and "Brer Rabbit"
Michael Chick
Die Table
Edward Pierce
Abdul's Fez
Weird Cylinders of Wung and Wong
Tumbling Name Blocks
The Great Zonzo
Newspaper Headline Prediction
Imaginary Pipe
The Red Card
Self-Priming Syphon of Louis Histed
Multiple Jiffy Slate
Sword Stab
Die Everlasting
Midas Touch
Painting by Numbers
Product Details
LoC Classification 80-81811
No. of Pages 254
Personal Details
Read It No
Location Magic Library (Home) Shelf P
Condition Near Mint
Owner Bryan-Keith Taylor
Eric C. Lewis

Eric C. Lewis (1908 - November 23, 1993) was a British-born illusion builder that emigrated to the United States. Founded the MagiCraft Magic Manufacturing Co. He also worked with illusion builder John Gaughan before his retirement.


November 23, 1993

His best known creation is the Diminishing Silk Production.

The Academy of Magical Arts voted him Stage Magician of the Year twice, honored him with a Literary Fellowship and in 1985 awarded him the Masters Fellowship.

He is the father of magician Martin Lewis.
He authored over 20 books.

Well I Never! (1931)
Studies in Mystery (1941)
Eric Lewis’ Rope Routine (The Triple Cut Rope Routine) (1969)
A Choice of Miracles (1980)
A Continuation of Miracles (1981)
The Crowning Miracles (1983)
Martin's Miracles (1985)

The Berg Book (1983) (with David Avadon)
P.T. Selbit: Magical Innovator (1989) (with Peter Warlock)